Street To Home Outreach Healthcare. Photography: Katie Bennett.

Events Feed

Posted 09-11-2020
Action Lab

Thursday 17 December 2020 for three hours online at:

  • 11:00 am ACDT, Adelaide
  • 8:30 am AWST, Perth
  • 11:30 am AEDT, Sydney, Melbourne, Hobart
  • 10:30 am AEST, Brisbane
  • 10:00 am ACST, Darwin

This Action Lab is aimed at supporting new communities to use the Advance to Zero homelessness methodology that the Australian Alliance to End Homelessness (AAEH) has been developing for use in Australia.

The Advance to Zero methodology is about creating system change, something that no one organization or individual can achieve on their own. For that reason, only communities can register to be part of these Action Labs, a community being a group of people from different organisations across state and local government, homelessness and housing providers, philanthropic organisations, academics, business leaders and others. If you would like to participate, we encourage you to get a group of people from your community, usually a local government area, or cluster of local government areas, together to discuss, agree who the community lead should be and register your interest. If you need any help or have further questions please get in touch.

How to Register

Once a group of people from a community have discussed and agreed to participate please register by contacting: info@aaeh.org.au

Prior to the Action Lab we will also ask your community to fill out a brief survey, including the details of participants in the Lab.

Cost

The cost for each community to participate is $1,980 inc GST. Once you have registered we will send you an invoice.

Action Lab Background

For the last three years the AAEH has been working closely with Community Solutions, the American non-profit that pioneered much of the Australian methodology through the Built For Zero campaign in the US. Their efforts have so far helped 13 American communities reach and sustain functional zero homelessness for various cohorts of homelessness. Their efforts were also a major part of launching Built for Zero Canada, which has driven significant reductions in a number of communities in Canada.

Here in Australia, coaches from Community Solutions have worked with five Australian communities to help them build quality by-name lists of people experiencing homelessness -- the essential first step to ending homelessness. Three teams have achieved that mark and begun reducing their number of rough sleepers, and the other two are super close. We have also been working closely with organisations like the Institute of Global Homelessness, Org Code and others to inform this work.

What to Expect

We structure our work with Community Solutions around six-month ‘action cycles,’ which usually start and end with in-person, three-day Action Labs. Obviously, COVID-19 means it’s not safe for all of us to gather in one place and rules out our American friends joining us. We have therefore created an online Action Lab intended to help you and your colleagues start to implement this methodology. The below gives an indication of the type of things we’ll cover:

  • Advance to Zero Homelessness Methodology & vision for 2021;
  • The Story of Zero and value of defining an end state;
  • The By Name List: The Essential First Step to Ending Homelessness;
  • The concept and measuring functional zero;
  • The Advance to Zero data management infrastructure;
  • The by-name list approach and scorecard; and
  • Building an improvement team.

One of the best parts about the Action Labs is the ability to make connections with and learn from other communities across Australia that are undertaking a similar journey.

Essential Preparation

What else should you do beforehand:

I hope that you can be part of this important event. Please get in touch if you have any questions.

Posted 01-11-2020
General VI-SPDAT Training

Tuesday 2nd February 2021

10:30am - 12:30pm AEDT
10:00am - 12 noon ACDT (SA)
9:30am - 11:30am AEST (QLD)
9:00am -11:00am ACST (NT)
7:30am - 9:30am AWST

Delivered by Iain De Jong - President and CEO of OrgCode Consulting. Based in Canada OrgCode Consulting created the VI-SPDAT

The VI-SPDAT is a prescreen instrument designed to help organisations and communities interested in ending homelessness to identify homeless adults, youth and families that have increased vulnerability and risks to future housing stability.

Posted 15-10-2020
Past Event: An Introduction to the Advance to Zero Homelessness Methodology

Past event

Tuesday 24th November 2020

1:00pm - 3:00pm AEDT
12:30pm - 2:30pm ACDT (SA)
12noon - 2pm AEST (QLD)
11:30am - 1:30pm ACST (NT)
10:00am - 12noon AWST

Online webinar delivered by David Pearson CEO of the AAEH, Senior Adviser for the Institute of Global Homelessness, Myer Innovation Fellow and Community Solutions International Large Scale Change Fellow.

Ending Homelessness is possible, this session will explain how communities around the world are demonstrating this and how communities in Australia are seeking to implement the Zero Homelessness Methodology though the AAEH’s Advance to Zero Campaign. The session will be useful for anyone interested in learning how to use the methodology in their community and for those who might already be part of a collaborative but are keen to get a more holistic understanding of how the approach works.

Posted 14-10-2020
Past event | Housing First and Ending Homelessness

Past event

Tuesday 27th October 2020

1:00 - 3:00pm AEDT
12:30 - 2:30pm ACDT (SA)
12noon - 2pm AEST (QLD)
11:30am - 1:30pm ACST (NT)
10am - 12 noon AWST

An online webinar delivered by Karyn Walsh CEO of Micah Projects in Queensland Leah Watkins 50 Lives 50 Homes Manager at RUAH Community Services in WA.

Karyn is the CEO of Micah Projects, which over the past 25 years has been actively involved in change processes in our service provision and in advocacy for investment toward more effective policy and programs which can end homelessness. Leah has been a participant in the Housing First Europe Hub Train-the-Trainer project.

Housing First and the Advance to Zero Methodology are different but mutually reinforcing approaches to ending homelessness. This session will explore the differences, and how both are being used to end rough sleeping homelessness in Australia and around the world.

Posted 15-09-2020
Past event | Introduction to Continuous Improvement

Past event

Tuesday 3rd November 2020

9:30am - 11:30am AEDT
9am - 11am ACDT (SA)
8:30am - 10:30am AEST (QLD)
8:00am - 10am ACST
6:30am - 8:30 AWST

Continuous Improvement is an essential component of the Advance to Zero methodology, this session delivered by Community Solutions International and the AAEH is intended to introduce communities interested in using this approach, adapted by Community Solutions from an approach developed by the Institute for Healthcare Improvement, for use in supporting communities to inch closer to functional zero homelessness.

Community's participating in the Advance to Zero campaign move through four phases on our road map for getting to zero. First, communities go though an action planning process to establish continuous improvement teams comprising multiple local agencies and organisations. The second phase involves communities developing high-quality, real-time data on homelessness - in the form of by-name list. The third phase starts once a community has quality by-name list and local teams then begin to test new ideas intended to drive month-over-month reductions in the number of individuals experiencing homelessness.

This session will explore how local teams use a by-name list and the continuous Improvement process to run these tests of change and see the effects of what they’re testing on the number of people experiencing homelessness every month. Is the number going down? Do they have fewer homeless people this month than they did last month? If not, what do they need to change?

Audience: Existing AAEH communities/agencies or new communities wanting to learn more about the process.

Posted 04-09-2020
Past Event | Ending Homelessness 101

Past event

Tuesday 29th September 2020

2:00pm - 4:00 pm AEST
1:30pm - 3:30pm ACST
12:00 - 2:00pm AWST

Delivered by: David Pearson CEO of the AAEH, Senior Adviser for the Institute of Global Homelessness, Myer Innovation Fellow and Community Solutions International Large Scale Change Fellow.

Ending Homelessness is possible, this session will explain how communities around the world are demonstrating this and how communities in Australia are seeking to implement the Zero Homelessness Methodology though the AAEH’s Advance to Zero Campaign. The session will be useful for anyone interested in learning how to use the methodology in their community and for those who might already be part of a collaborative but are keen to get a more holistic understanding of how the approach works.

Audience: Everyone - new communities/agencies and interested individuals, existing communities/agencies, policy makers, CEO’s, philanthropy, business, etc

Price: $65+GST Full Price, free for AAEH members, if cost is a barrier for you please contact us.

Posted 04-09-2020
Past Event | VI-SPDAT General Training session

Past Event

Tuesday 6th October 2020

10:30am - 12:30pm AEDT
10:00am - 12 noon ACDT (SA)
9:30am - 11:30am AEST (QLD)
11:30am -1:30pm ACST (NT)
7:30am - 9:30am AWST


Delivered by Iain De Jong - President and CEO of OrgCode Consulting. Based in Canada OrgCode Consulting created the VI-SPDAT

The VI-SPDAT is a prescreen instrument designed to help organisations and communities interested in ending homelessness to identify homeless adults, youth and families that have increased vulnerability and risks to future housing stability.

Across 15 different thematic areas, the VI-SPDAT uses a range of questions and styles of questions to help better identify who would be best served by different types of supports and housing, while also providing an unparalleled understanding of the strengths and opportunities to better support and serve people based upon depth of need rather than first come, first served or other subjective approaches to engaging with people who are homeless.

The Australian Alliance to End Homlessness (AAEH) has been supporting the use of the VI-SPDAT in Australia. This session will help you learn all you need to know about the background and appropriate use of the VI-SPDAT.

Audience: Existing AAEH communities/agencies and new communities.

Price: $65+GST Full Price, free for AAEH members, if cost is a barrier for you please contact us on info@aaeh.org.au.

Posted 31-07-2020
Past event | VI-SPDAT Train the Trainer session

Past event

Tuesday 1 September 2020 | 9.30am - 11.30am AEST

Delivered by Iain De Jong - President and CEO of OrgCode Consulting.
Based in Canada OrgCode Consulting created the VI-SPDAT

If you have experience using the VI-SPDAT, and you want to improve and support the proper application of the VI-SPDAT, the VI-SPDAT Train the Trainer will equip you with the skills necessary to assist colleagues as well as allied professionals and volunteers in administering the instrument in a manner consistent with how it was designed.


Posted 15-07-2020
Past Event | Rough Sleeping Responses to COVID-19 Forum | Updates from the Sector

Past event

The Australian Alliance to End Homelessness (AAEH) held a fourth online forum focusing on Rough Sleeping Responses due to the COVID-19 pandemic on Tuesday 27 July 2020, 1-2:30pm AEST.

Key Speakers:

  • David Pearson—CEO, Australian Alliance to End Homelessness (Host)
  • Karyn Walsh— CEO, Micah Projects (QLD)
  • Katherine McKernan—CEO, Homelessness (NSW)
  • Bevan Warner—CEO, Launch Housing (VIC)
  • Dr Jed Donoghue—State Housing Manager, Salvation Army (TAS)
  • Travis Gilbert—CEO, ACT Shelter (ACT)
  • Kim Homes, State Manager, Neami (SA)
  • John Berger—Executive Officer, WA Alliance to End Homelessness (WA)
  • Kelly Hansen - CEO Nova for Women and Children ( Newcastle, NSW)

View the presentation slides

View a recording of the forum here

View additional information from Launch Housing here

View additional information from Micah Projects here

View the Brisbane Alliance to End Homelessness Recovery and Homes for all Factsheet here

Posted 05-05-2020
Past Event | Rough Sleeping Responses due to COVID-19 Forum: Preventing a Return to Homelessness – Government's Perspective

Past Event

The Australian Alliance to End Homelessness (AAEH) held a third online forum focusing on Rough Sleeping Responses due to the COVID-19 pandemic on Tuesday 12 May 2020, 11:30am – 1:00pm

Each state and territory government have been responding to Rough Sleeping during COVID-19 differently. This forum was chance to hear exactly what’s been happening and to get a Commonwealth Government and Local Government perspective on what needs to happen next.

The forum also provided the opportunity to hear the latest data on how many people experiencing rough sleeping have been sheltered in response to COVID-19.

Speakers:

  • Hon Luke Howarth MP, Assistant Minister for Community Housing, Homelessness and Community Services
  • Sandy Verschoor, Lord Mayor of City of Adelaide and Chair of the Council of Capital City Lord Mayors.

View a recording of the forum